Saxophone Forum

by Rachael
(13 posts)
20 years ago

Is Concertino Da Camera a decent piece to play for solo and ensemble?

I'm kinda new to this, but my private instructor recently gave me the piece concertino da camera to work on on for my senior year of solo and ensemble. I know that this piece is well known but how good of a piece is it for this event?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by musicalthatsme
    (1 post)

19 years ago

Re: Is Concertino Da Camera a decent piece to play for solo and ensemble?

I am personally very fond of that piece. It is gorgeous when played correctly. It's generally too technically difficult for most high school students though. I attempted it my freshman year and failed miserably. If you are having problems with it, I would suggest trying an easier piece. "Prelude et Saltarelle" by Planel is a favorite of mine. (it was my fall back piece freshman year hehe)

Reply To Post

2. by SaxMan
    (559 posts)

20 years ago

excellent as long as you can play it right. tecnical ability is one thing - an unimportant thing. I only know of 3 high school players that can play it right. me, a person who I played in an ensemble with that graduated a couple years ago and another person who was highly commended for his performance at solo and ensemble last year - I assume that he played it right. contrary to popular beleif, the second movement is much more challenging for most younger musicians the expressions are hard...

Reply To Post

1. by wesmiller
      (55 posts)

20 years ago