Saxophone Forum

by EmoPhone
(10 posts)
15 years ago

C Melody beginner

I just bought a 1923 Beuscher C Melody. I love the music of the Jazz Age, the early 20s-32 maybe, the tone, they style, the whimsy in playing. I have been playing guitar for 33 years and now I wnat to try sax. Im hoping for any advice, pointers, resource centers for scales, arpeggios etc that might help. Thanks in advance !!!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by kneejerk52
    (397 posts)

15 years ago

Re: C Melody beginner

first buy an Alto or a Tenor

Reply To Post

1. by EmoPhone
      (10 posts)

15 years ago

what kind of advice or pointer is that? I've already bought the C Melody, so Im not going out to buy another sax, and would you mind elaborating why someone would want to buy an Alto or Tenor first? What advantages would that offer and why?

Reply To Post

1. by chalazon
        (547 posts)

15 years ago

most folks wouldn't want to buy a c melody at all. These horns are considered obsolete, and with reason. There is very little music written for the C. The horn has a weak and nasel tone quality, and definite intonation problems..you're going to have a very hard time finding reeds for this horn, and a quality mouthpiece..the ergonomics are deadly, and generally no body wants to hear them..other than that, they are shaped much like a saxophone..good luck.

Reply To Post

1. by EmoPhone
          (10 posts)

15 years ago