Saxophone Forum

by mlott
(2 posts)
11 years ago

Beginner Jazz Standards

Hey all

I'm a returning saxophonist after approximately a 20 year hiatus, so effectively, I'm a complete beginner again.  I had a healthy interest in Jazz prior to stopping playing, but didn't have the maturity to understand what was really going on (to be honest, I still don't understand, but I like to think I've matured over 20 years).

Now I'm back on the horse, so-to-speak, and in the process of looking for a teacher and hitting my scales again, I'd really like some pointers on some standards to get my teeth into, that are manageable for a beginner.

I'd appreciate any insight and help you can possibly give.

Thanks!

Mike 

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by runandwrite
    (7 posts)

11 years ago

Re: Beginner Jazz Standards

This post echos almost exactly where I'm at. I quit playing after high school -- I thought about it in college, but it seemed like everyone there was so far ahead of me that I'd never catch up, and I gave up playing completely.

Now I'm picking it up again, trying to take it more seriously, learn my scales and figure out this thing called music theory -- jazz in particular.

Anyway, glad to see another born-again sax player out there -- good luck!

Bill

Reply To Post

2. by acidic303
    (4 posts)

11 years ago

Hello,

I'm a beginner and am currently learning watermelon man and Doxy.

mark

Reply To Post

1. by wesburnham
      (3 posts)

10 years ago

Great two peices to start practicing on and learn to solo in the right blues scales. Those types of songs are great to get good at soloing. Those are two songs that i started learning jazz on. Good luck.

Reply To Post

2. by mlott
      (2 posts)

11 years ago

Thanks Mark.  I'll have a delve into those two :)

Mike 

Reply To Post

3. by GFC
    (842 posts)

11 years ago