Saxophone Forum

by TheOlajos
(8 posts)
9 years ago

210xxx Buescher True Tone Alto Low Pitch - Best Setup?

I just purchased a '25 Buescher TT Alto low pitch. That being said, I need a mouthpiece (chamber? material? brand?) under 100, and a reed recommendation. I like a darker sound from my playing but I am not experienced enough to know the mechanics of each part. Any suggestions for a good setup? I have 2 sample packs of #2 and #3 vandoren reeds at the moment, no mouthpiece though.
      Also, any notes on caring for the satin silver finish? It needs a good clean but im not sure how to go about it without wearing down more.  
       Finally: Kangaroo, or calfskin pads? Ive heard ups and downs of both but never sound quality notes. Especially on a vintage TT

Thanks,
Isaac 

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by TheOlajos
    (8 posts)

9 years ago

Re: 210xxx Buescher True Tone Alto Low Pitch - Best Setup?

Also, vintage or modern mouthpiece? I heard the chamber size rant is a load of junk? Confirm?

Reply To Post

1. by GFC
      (842 posts)

9 years ago

Re: 210xxx Buescher True Tone Alto Low Pitch - Best Setup?

As a general rule, stick with conservative (low baffle, medium to large chamber) mouthpiece designs while you develop as a player.  You do not want to be in a position of being dependent on certain mouthpiece features as a substitute for good technique.