Saxophone Forum

by SaxPlayer324
(4 posts)
18 years ago

What makes a sax vintage?

Im sorry if i sound kind of stupid... but what makes a sax vintage? Just it being made like a while ago? I have a Bundy, from about the 70s. Its in really good shape, I'm getting the keys realigned now because it has a ton of leaks. The bell is larger than the bells today, and it has real pearl on the keys. Does anyone know where I can look up more information about Bundys, because i wanna learn more about my sax. I use an otto link tone edge mouthpiece from the 70s also with it. Is that a good combination? I've been playing sax for a few years now, but I've never really gotten into the different types and stuff before now.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by johnsonfromwisconsin
    (767 posts)

18 years ago

Re: What makes a sax vintage?

I wouldn't consider Bundys 'Vintage'. Is it old enough? probably. Is it desireble enough? Hardly. Bundys of that era were based on the Buescher Aristocrat, though modified to be produced more economically than that old vintage pro model. They are nearly identical to late, degraded Aristocrats during the same era. I'll say this: they're good instruments for students, but school systems seem to have been shedding them for the likes of the Jupiters, Vitos, and Yamahas. These are horns that are superior, particularily in keywork to your own saxophone. They are fairly durable, but I find them over-sprung with stiff action. The LH table is quite cumbersome.

Reply To Post

1. by saxplaya81
      (110 posts)

18 years ago

It doesnt matter if its a byundy or a mark vi if its old enough it can still be considered vintage, generally yes a saxophone or anything made a long time ago is considered vintage, saxophones, cars, etc. Check out selmers website to get a little more info, you can also go to a repair shop and talk to a tech, they usually know a lot about the history of horns,

Reply To Post

1. by MarkLavelle