Saxophone Forum

by gottydot
(41 posts)
18 years ago

Rico Jazz select

Does anyone know anything about rico jazz select reeds? I want to know if it'd be a good idea to try them. I play alto sax, and I've been playing for 3 years, but I'm a serious jazz player. I want to know what soft medium and hard mean, and also what filed, and unfiled reeds are. Thanks :)

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by JazzIsLife
    (3 posts)

17 years ago

Re: Rico Jazz select

I play on Rico Jazz Select and I love them!!! I would definately suggest trying them!! .. I would suggest going for a 3 soft or a 3 medium.... Alexander Superials... or DCs are also great!

Reply To Post

2. by jamterry
    (573 posts)

18 years ago

Hi JazzGal, Don't worry about filing. People that worry about that fall into the category of frustrated players and collectors. I used Rico as a child, but when I progressed i switched to LaVoz and Vandoren. I thnk medium is a good place to start. I think LaVoz medium and Vandoren traditional 2 1/2. Knowing how to pick reeds is a big factor. The darker reeds are usually the best. look for an even curve on the butt and an even slope from butt to tip. All the best to you :) Terry

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM ICQ

1. by CountSpatula
      (602 posts)

18 years ago

Err...Filed reeds will be a little bit brighter...it felt really similar to my vandoren javas...the unfiled are darker sounding. I also found the projection a little better on the filed...

Reply To Post AIM

1. by jamterry
        (573 posts)

18 years ago

You don't need any filing . Just make sure you pick your reeds. When I don't like a reed i throw it away. Some of these high school kid experts are out to rewrite history. Thank God I never played in a high school band. :) Terry

2. by knorter
        (205 posts)

17 years ago

Greg sax if I see another response like that I will have you removed. In the meantime I will remove your original response. Kristy

2. by blackfrancis