Saxophone Forum

by Papa John
(3 posts)
17 years ago

looking for a vintage sax for my muscian son all help apprciated

Hi looking at vintage conn sax's for my son he plays flute piano learning to play alto sax, am looking at c melody sax for x mass gift. Any thoughts on this as well I see that there is straight neck and curved neck models. he is only 12 but practices all three instruments every day. As well as working with a kurzweil pcr-1 keyboard from time to time I am not a musician but have researched several different models conn seems like one of the better ones. Looking to purchase via eBay and have done my due diligence as to what I am looking for. Price seems to be a obstacle as the good ones are going for 400.00 I guess what I am looking for is specific serial numbers for a sweet sounding instrument. I can figure condition out All help appreciated . Thanks in advance

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by jamterry
    (573 posts)

17 years ago

Re: looking for a vintage sax for my muscian son all help apprciated

Hey Papa John, First of all, forget about a C melody. That would just impede your son's progress. He needs an alto at this point, and $400 won't buy a vintage Conn alto. I suggest renting with the option to buy. If he sticks with it, a Conn 6M is the way to go, but they don't come cheap. I would be real careful with old horns, as you don't know what they have been through. They can require extensive overhaul. Kurzweil ia a good keyboard, but used stuff is risky. I have to maintain four keybords and often times the contacts get loaded up with dirt, dust and cigarette smoke. My parting words are STAY AWAY from C melody horns. They are nothing more than trinkets for people who aren't musicians. Good luck with that :) Terry

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM ICQ

1. by chiamac
      (586 posts)

17 years ago