Saxophone Forum

by irvan
(2 posts)
17 years ago

selmer bundy

hi folks...i'm new in saxophone i'm looking for my first alto, somebody want to sell his selmer bundy for $550 to me..is it worth it?? is it student/ pro sax?? thanks be4

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Sax Mom
    (964 posts)

17 years ago

Re: selmer bundy

Bundy is generally a student horn. I wouldn't pay $550 for it.

Reply To Post

2. by kneejerk52
    (397 posts)

17 years ago

ill second that, good advice they are not bad, but 550 even in great playing cond sounds a little much.

Reply To Post

1. by johnsonfromwisconsin
      (767 posts)

17 years ago

The highest I've seen alto bundy horns go for retail is in the $500 range. Keep in mind, that value is inflated by the store's need to cover ovearhead, and it typically includes the store's good name, an exchange policy, and a warrantee to justify that extra retail cost. Also keep in mind, my experience is is the Midwest and local economies may be different, but I doubt much different. I'm not saying don't buy the horn. I am saying that as a commodity, that is a bit above the high side those instruments are going for unless in prestine condition and recently serviced.

Reply To Post

3. by Donnie The B
    (282 posts)

17 years ago

Generally you can't buy much of a saxophone for $550. However, I know Ralph Morgan really worked hard on the Bundy II design and you can likely find a really nice used one for less than that. New ones might not be even that much. You might also check out the E.M. Winston altos. I recently bought a lightly used Winston tenor for well under $1000 and find it to be suitable down to low B. Low Bb is quite a stretch to reach - bad design. But the horn is well made and sounds good --- or maybe I just sound good - LOL. - - - - Good Luck.

Reply To Post

1. by saxismyaxe
      (575 posts)

17 years ago