I have been trying to make the

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by jazbo
    (1 post)

16 years ago

Re: trying to get my ears around altered 7ths

im a guitarist and found that playing without the root of any V7alt chord allows for a more solid sound , the scale will sound sick by itself, need to resolve it to a non altered chord/scale a 4th higher, although im sure there are exceptions but thats my aproach.

Reply To Post

2. by Tranesyadaddy
    (279 posts)

17 years ago

It comes a little clearer if you build that scale off B natural. then you get B.C.D.Eb.F.G.A.B.C, basically an ascending C melodic minor scale, but starting on the seventh. That's why your ears want to take you to the second degree, ie the C you're used to hearing the scale end on. A 7alt does sound weird by itself, but in context it sounds perfectly natural. It often occurs as IIdim,V7alt,I(min)

Reply To Post

1. by Tranesyadaddy
      (279 posts)

17 years ago

There's a minor turnaround like that in 'Blue Bossa' which is on Joe Henderson's 'Page one' album.

Reply To Post

3. by The Insomniac Saxman
    (141 posts)

17 years ago