Saxaphones with an underslung

When I started playing alto in

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by newreedsyndrome
    (343 posts)

16 years ago

Re: Saxaphones with an underslung octave key?

What I think you had is not known as an Elkhart, but a Conn 6M. What engravings were on it? If there was something resembling a woman, it is one of the best altos ever made, and even if not, it was a very good horn. If you're putting "Conn 6M Elkhart" in the Ebay browser, you're not going to have much luck. Just remove the "Elkhart". Ebay is not a great place to buy horns, though. Check Sax on the Web, here (Saxquest) and Craigslist/Backpage first.

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

16 years ago

Re: Saxaphones with an underslung octave key?

The most valuable 6M's are the early ones with the rolled tone holes and silver finish. Conn 6M's from 1934-1947 had rolled tone holes. The 1948 and later horns had drawn tone holes and these horns are less valuable. After 1954, they did away with the micro tuner neck (although they still had the underslung octave key). 1959 was the last year for the lady engraving. In 1963, they went to stamped sheet metal guards. All 6M's were made in Elkhart, Indiana. Production of professional quality horns ended when MacMillan closed the Elkhart plant around 1970. The 50's 6M's are fantastic horns and still have the famous half-naked lady engraving. They usually sell for considerably less than the earlier horns with the rolled tone holes. I've seen them go for less than $800 on ebay in fairly good condition. Expect to pay around $1200 for an earlier model with rolled tone holes. Anything that you buy from eBay, expect to spend an extra couple hundred dollars to have the sax checked out, cleaned and adjusted. Sometimes pads and corks are needed also. I do agree though, there isn't a sweeter sound than a Conn 6M, and they play so easy! I wouldn't trade mine for a dozen Selmer Mark VI's! Jim