Saxophone Forum

by BreckerBrothersaregods!
(23 posts)
20 years ago

Growl?

Anybody got any practice tips or approaches to growling? I can flutter tongue very well, but every since I started playing a more open mouthpiece, it has been harder for me to pull off when playing softly.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by cavefish
    (20 posts)

20 years ago

Re: Growl?

growling has nothing to do with your tongue . clear your throat like you were getting something out of your lungs ( snot , water whatever) or try to make a bear sound . do that sound while playing your sax thats growling

Reply To Post

2. by Spunky2sax75
    (75 posts)

20 years ago

The best way I can explain growling is to pretend you are playing a kazoo. If you do that type of humming into the sax, you can get a decent growl, but it takes a LONG time to get good at it. I am still working on it about 4 months after I learned how to do it. Another important thing to do is keep a lot of air going through the horn. I have found that when I growl, I need to put a lot more air through the horn than I usually do. I hope this advice helps... at least give it a try, this is how I learned it.

Reply To Post

1. by Spike
      (248 posts)

20 years ago

yeah, it takes more ractice than you'd think. i've actually got a really good growl going now, but the only advice i can give is to practice it.

Reply To Post

1. by divesta
        (11 posts)

20 years ago

Every one growls a little differently, I have hear about some players singing falseto (singing really high not in the natural male voice) it has a different effect. I still don't have the growl down well, but it is fun as long as you don't do it all the time.

Reply To Post

1. by thattenorplayer
          (18 posts)

20 years ago

Hey, I've been playing sax for about 4 years and am wondering how to flutter tounge and what is growling, or if its even possible for such a young player to do it. thanks

Reply To Post

2. by Spike