Saxophone Forum

by cyber75sax
(33 posts)
20 years ago

New Pads

I'm about to send my Series II up to Emilio Lyons for an overhaul. Any opinions (heh) on which pads and resonators I should replace my funky Selmer browns with?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

20 years ago

Re: New Pads

If you liked the tone of your horn with the brownies, then I'd stick with them. Otherwise, I think that domed metal reso's are the way to go - particularly the seamless ones where you don't see the rivet head. I have no experience refurbing with Noyeks, so I couldn't advise you in that regard, but I can't imagine what would justify paying the premium. They look "gimmicky" to me.

Reply To Post

1. by johnsonfromwisconsin
      (767 posts)

20 years ago

you could probably ask Mr Lyons what he might recommend based on what you want to accomplish. If you like the sound and response of your series II currently, no change to the setup would probably be the smartest thing to do.

Reply To Post

1. by SaxMan
        (559 posts)

20 years ago

Maniac, beleive me, thos noyaks are anything but gimmikey (sp) I have those on my junker for pep band, and damn that thing is loud - I use my crap S-80 on it cause that is the best piece that I have that is not already reserved for staying with my III, and with that S-80 I can hit a top dynamic of about 5 F's, with my pep band piece - too damn loud. people have learned not to sit closer than three rows in front of me at games...

Reply To Post

1. by sax_maniac
          (984 posts)

20 years ago