Saxophone Forum

by bandgeek
(11 posts)
20 years ago

New and Nervous

Hi everybody! I'm new to this discussion forum, and relatively new to the sax. I played piano for mmany years, and only started playing sax a few months ago. I practiced night and day until i made 2nd saxophones in band. Recently, I was asked to play in a local jazz band but I find sightreading (especially around people that are better than me) extremely nerveracking. Should I go for it? Help Please!!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by wesmiller
    (55 posts)

20 years ago

Re: New and Nervous

Hello Nervous: Have a decaf and sit down :). Absolutely you should join the band. You stuck with the piano all those years. Right? You are practicing this new instrument with dedication and have already proven yourself by placing in your band program. Why worry? Now you have been ASKED to play in a jazz band. You will make mistakes as you go: so what. Join the rest of us. Thats how we all learn. Worst case scenario is there is a jerk in the section who gives you a hard time. Those are the fun ones! Take the "high road" ignore him, focus, practice and obliterate him with your improved playing skills: thats the worst case. My guess, however, is all will be fine. Just have fun. Wes

Reply To Post

1. by saxgrobie
      (86 posts)

20 years ago

I agree. Practice sight-reading (oxymoron, right?) and it gets easier. When looking over a new piece of music, make sure to look at the key signature (as many of us have learned the hard way) and look for accidentals before begining the piece. If you continue to look at new pieces, not only will your musical variety widen, but you'll also get a lot better at sight-reading. And when you're a pro, make sure to show up the guy who made fun of you. *wink*

Reply To Post AIM

2. by chiamac
    (586 posts)

20 years ago