Saxophone Forum

by mega band geek
(60 posts)
20 years ago

What cd's should I get?

I'm beginning to work on my improv for the first time and have told to buy some jazz cds to get some ideas for when I play. What would be the best cds for a beginning jazz player?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Spike
    (248 posts)

20 years ago

Re: What cd's should I get?

All of them. But start with Kind of Blue, Saxophone Collossus, and Mingus Ah Um. Buy them used. After that, go to the library every week and get a new cd to listen to.

Reply To Post

2. by peter090
    (155 posts)

20 years ago

Get something you like so much you wear it out listening to it. Your taste will probably change as your concept develops but start out by trying to figure out how to play the music you like best. Improvising is hard work and if you are going to be any good it has to be a labor of love.

Reply To Post

3. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

20 years ago

I'm new to improv myself, and have found the Hal Leonard Play Along series to be awesome and affordable ($15 at the music store - $10-$15 at Amazon). What's great is that the sheet music is supplied for Eb, Bb, C, and Bass Clef C with about 10 songs per book. Very versatile. Do an Amazon.com search under "jazz play along" in their book section. For starters, get Jazz Ballads and/or Jazz Classics with Easy Changes. They will give you something to work on that is attainable without too much frustration. Yeah, there's Charlie Parker and Coltrane books, but most of that stuff goes into frantic key changes that puts beginning improvisationalists (like myself) into a musical flat spin. I've got a collection of about 13 of the books now and love all of them even if I can't quite grasp all of the songs. The accompaniment (actual recordings - not MIDI synthesized garbage) is of such high quality that I even listen to them in my car. Sort of practice in my head, get a feel for things. Then I can get out the horn once I'm h