Saxophone Forum

by YanagisawA-901
(312 posts)
20 years ago

{[] Young but experienced player in need of help []}

hey guys, i just signed up for this and kinda tryna get my name out here so ppl will wanna help me out when i need it... 1st ill let u kno, im a junior in highschool, 2nd alto in jazz and 1st alto in concert band in my highschool. ive been playing for 6 years and consider myself a good player. my setup is a yanagisawa A-901, a selmer S-80 C*, a vandoren java 3 1/2, and a Rovner dark lig. im just lookin for some general help guys, maybe study techniques? scale excersizes? things that will help me prolong the life of my sax? im looking for a new case so maybe a protec?? or what do u guys think? improv practice tips? tone? and im really trying to learn how to growl.. just anyone wanting to share any ideas on how to excell, or just how u guys practice, MiKe

[Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by tenor562
    (297 posts)

20 years ago

Re: {[] Young but experienced player in need of help []}

Hi Yani, What kind of horn do you have? Cause if you have the Yani A-901, it's really goes for 1650 on wwbw. You should check that out. Because for 3500$ you could get a hiscox, a barone top quality mouthpiece, an optimum, alexanders, anything you want + the sax. you should look into it. www.wwbw.com PS. wwbw matches any price, do a search for the item you want on www.froogle.com, and even if it's some internet store, or something, wwbw will match it. When I looked at these 20 mouthpieces I was looking in to, I saved an average of 6.50 on them, and 25$ on the Larry Teal.. Glad to help you out!

1. by YanagisawA-901
      (312 posts)

20 years ago

yea dude, i got hte 901, its retailed at 3600, but i got it from chuck levins washington music, and they were having a sale at 1600 and i did a trade in for 400 so i got a hella good deal

2. by saxgrobie
    (86 posts)

20 years ago