Saxophone Forum

by karebear1012
(395 posts)
20 years ago

High school jazz band

hey! I'm a freshman this year, and I recently found out that I got lead sax in our HS jazz band. The only problem is, I suck at improvising (I have no idea how I got lead cuz im not that good at improv). I've been playing various instruments since 3rd grade, but I've only been playing sax for like 2 years. I was wondering what websites or books you recommend to improve my improvising. My teacher is having me work on Lennie Nehause books and Rubanks Advanced Method Vol. 2 right now. Thanks! Kara

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by golferguy675
    (600 posts)

20 years ago

Re: High school jazz band

Rubanks for improv??? Got to jazzbooks.com. It's Jamey Aebersold's website. Just type in or look under the category improvisation. Also, he has playalong books that have songs, the chord changes, and a CD with the rythm section to play with. As your teacher about Jamey, he'll know who he is at least, if not, he'll know him. If he doesn't, quit taking lessons from him.

Reply To Post

2. by YanagisawA-901
    (312 posts)

20 years ago