Saxophone Forum

by DebB
(1 post)
15 years ago

Which sax for a beginner - Choice of 3?

So.... which alto is better: Keilwerth ST90 Mk II Buffet Evette Selmer Bundy 1242 I know none of them would be as good as a student Yamaha, but would any of them do for a beginner, to save on rental, as I have a large musical family and would like to add a sax to the collection anyway? My daughter who wants to play is in primary school (only 8). She has been playing clarinet and wants to change to sax. Needless to say, she needs one that is easy to blow and has a smooth mechanism. I am a music teacher and have played sax in a concert band in years past but no longer own one. So, I would enjoy playing it too. I am considering these three as they are currently on offer second hand nearby, and are very cheaply priced. (300-400 Aussie dollars, which equates to only a years rental) Any advice would be welcome. Thanks, Deb

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxophoneman
    (2 posts)

14 years ago

Re: Which sax for a beginner - Choice of 3?

My two cents. Bundys are almost indestructible, they can sustain an immense amount of damage.

Reply To Post

2. by chalazon
    (547 posts)

15 years ago

go with the Bundy.

Reply To Post

1. by cuber
      (653 posts)

15 years ago