Saxophone Forum

by zeekman116
(27 posts)
14 years ago

New Mouthpiece

Hey guys. I'm in the Jazz Band at my school and we are a state renowned band. I'm a freshman, so I'm trying to get my witz about me. The question is, what is the best mouthpiece i could buy? i have searching Jody Jazz, Otto Link, and SR technologies. help me out here.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by zeekman116
    (27 posts)

14 years ago

Re: New Mouthpiece

sorry, i also play tenor

Reply To Post

1. by cuber
      (653 posts)

14 years ago

if you can find an OLD meyer, those are killer mouthpeices

Reply To Post

2. by jdcsax
    (14 posts)

14 years ago

Well...There really isn't a "best: mouthpiece out there, It all depends on what kind of sound you're looking for. I think the tenor has the most when it comes to variety of mouthpieces and sounds.Tip opening determines how free blowing the MP is. Wider tip opening equates to easier blow and added volume but require more control. The baffle is the roof of the mouthpiece chamber. A “high baffle” is when the baffle is built into the tone chamber, thereby reducing the chamber’ size. A high baffle gives a tone with more edge and brightness. Conversely, a “low baffle” results in a larger chamber and a somewhat darker sound. Some mouthpiece companies, such as Meyer, offer different combination's of tip opening chamber sizes. If you're looking for a brighter sound, I recommend going with a metal piece like Otto Link Super Tone, Guardala, or Ponzol. However, those can get really pricey. Some good hard rubber pieces would be Otto Link Tone Edge, Beechler Diamond, and Meyer. Those are considerably less expensive.Take in to consideration that it may require changing reed size too. The key is finding a piece that gives you a sound you really like. Good luck! -JDC

Reply To Post

1. by cuber
      (653 posts)

14 years ago