Saxophone Forum

by UNT JazzSax
(1 post)
20 years ago

Selecting a Big Band Baritone Sax Mouthpiece

I am a student at the University of North Texas in Denton. My main instrument is alto and I play on a Meyer 6M for that horn and like the focus and projection I get. However, this semester I was put on bari in one of the jazz bands here. The school has provided a nice Mark VI bari, but I have to have my own mouthpiece. So I could have one for the first rehearsal I ran to a local music store and bought a couple random mouthpieces. A metal Brilhart 3 and a metal H-Couf 7. The Couf has nice volume, but it is hard to control and I'm scared to play it in a rehearsal. The Brilhart sounds okay, but it takes so much air to keep up with this very loud band that I literally have to take a breath every measure. I have a friend who playes a Berg Larson so I went to WWBW and there were so many variations on tip openings and chambers I didn't know where to start. In summary, I'm looking for a mouthpiece that I can control, the low notes come out easily, and that can project enough to anchor a big band sax section, without taking so much air as to make me pass out. Thanks.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by barimachine
    (323 posts)

20 years ago

Re: Selecting a Big Band Baritone Sax Mouthpiece

i play a jody jazz ESP and as your playing in a big band its got a big sound but its versital so you can easily use it all the time in jazz but its a big free blowing piece so the air you use will be well used took me a while to get used to when i was trying it out i could hardly get a note out but i would recomend getting around a 100 or so for you i play a 120 but im a bari player and a 100 can easily get the job done www.jodyjazz.com

Reply To Post

2. by barimachine
    (323 posts)

20 years ago