Saxophone Forum

by MiddleSchoolSax
(5 posts)
20 years ago

Middle School Sax Players

I have been playing Sax for 2 years, i currently own a selmer super action 80 II, and it does me fine. Im I participated last year in a very good MiddleSchool band, though this year it is no where near as good, missing an two amazing sax players and many others on other instruments. Anyway, i am looking for a good solo piece, most likely somthing fast, similar to the Eccles 4th Movement, but with a little more musical style and sound. Any Help? MSSP

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by tenor562
    (297 posts)

20 years ago

Re: Middle School Sax Players

hey, yea, I'm in Middle school too. Whoa, you have an awesome sax. alto or tenor? I have a YTS62II, it's great too, but not that great. I don't know your level, sounds like you're really good, but a good solo book to look for is Rubank Concert and Contest Collection for Tenor Sax. I think that's what it's called. It's like a Whiteish book with greenish blue lettering on it. It's pretty good. currently, I';m doing one of the harder ones for solo and ensemble. they have some faster ones there. If you want anything harder, check jwpepper. Sometimes you can listen to the song. Good Luck, and feel free to join the School Band Discussion while you're here. -Leslie

Reply To Post

1. by SaxMan
      (559 posts)

20 years ago

Try the glaz concerto - lots of interpretation - most arent up to it. heiden is easier for interpretation, but is borign as hell.

Reply To Post

2. by MiddleSchoolSax
    (5 posts)

20 years ago

Thanks for the advice. Its an alto, ok condidtion. About 15 years old, somewhere around that. My level is good for a middle school player. I sightread well and understand concepts well. Ill take a look at the concerto that was mentioned. MSSP

Reply To Post

3. by YanagisawA-901
    (312 posts)

20 years ago