Saxophone Forum

by Jack Cici
(87 posts)
20 years ago

THE PERFECT JAZZ SAXOPHONE

Hi. I want 2 know which saxophone is the best for jazz? What brand[s] and size, alto,tenor ect. Thanks, JackCici

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

20 years ago

Re: THE PERFECT JAZZ SAXOPHONE

Tenor. No - alto. No - soprano. No - bari.... Your question is impossible to answer. There's as much variation in jazz as there is with saxophones. Just buy one and start playing. Some day you will be good enough that it might make a difference what equipment you are using. Are you playing saxophone already or just now looking to get started?

Reply To Post

1. by Jack Cici
      (87 posts)

20 years ago

i'm an beginner. i started playin a couple of years ago and i just decided to join the site.

Reply To Post

1. by sax_maniac
        (984 posts)

20 years ago

Well, any saxophone can be used in jazz. As far as instrumentation, I'd say it's split as follows: 40% Tenor 40% Alto 10% Bari 10% Soprano And very commonly, a jazz saxophone player will play multiple horns. As far as which kind, it sort of depends on what your priorities are. Collectable vintage, new looking, expense account, etc. There's lots of vintage horns that play great and lots of them that don't. Same goes for modern horns. Chasing down a top brand will increase the odds you find a good one but won't guarantee that it's the perfect horn for you. It's a very individualized selection process. Be prepared to play dozens if not hundreds of horns before you find what you consider to be the perfect jazz saxophone. Same goes for mouthpieces. Good Luck.

Reply To Post

1. by chiamac
          (586 posts)

20 years ago