Saxophone Forum

by AlwaysBored89
(10 posts)
19 years ago

Good Saxes?

Hi. I've been playing the sax for 6 years, since I was in the 4th grade. I have a buffet champon (sorry if I spelled that wrong, I left my sax at school after my marching competition yesterday). It's a good sax. I've goofed off with some of my friends saxes before, and I prefer mine over all of theirs. I like the way it feels better. But over the summer, I started wanting a new and better sax. A friend of mine was looking at guitar stuff on some site, so I started looking at their sax stuff and found a gorgeous silver one, but it cost $2,579.99. Way too much. So, I went to the local music store, the one where I bought the sax I currently have, and explained my situation to the owner, nice guy. He showed me a Yamaha sax, for intermediate players. He let me play it some, and it was niice. But it wasn't silver. I realize color isn't really important, but I really do prefer the color silver over gold/brass. So, time passed, I sorta fell out of the "must have a new one" thing, but yesterday at the marching competition I was at. I saw a gorgeous silver sax, and went back into my "I want a better one" thing. So, I went looking on Ebay for something that'd be nice, pretty, and within my price range ($1000-ish). I don't want a beginner's sax. I'm conceited enough about my ability on the sax to know I'm better than a beginner's sax. I found a silver plated pro series monique alto sax that looks nice, but the opening bid on it was $9.99 and I can't find info outside of that page on that sax or anything to know if it's good or what. So, I guess what all this gets down to is: Is that a good sax? And what are some suggested brands? Anyone have a silver one with good sound? And can suggestions please try to stay within my price, cause I don't want my parents to sell my current sax back to the guy I got it from, because I really don't want to take a nice expensive sax out into the rain when I have marching band