Saxophone Forum

by saxmom11
(2 posts)
19 years ago

1955 Conn Stencil

Hi everyone. This is my first time on the forum. Wondering if you guys can help me out. My 11 yr old son plays alto sax. He currently has a Vito that someone gave us for free. Maybe I should start out by saying: I have very little money. He has to lug this sax back and forth to school everyday along with a 20 pound backpack. I wanted to buy him another sax to keep at home but I wanted to try to find something that sounds better than a Vito, but my budget really couldn't exceed $300. (Are you laughing yet?) My son loves alto sax and he's a natural player, and I didn't want to discourage him playing because he has a crappy sounding instrument. Well I bought an old Conn Stencil and was hoping some of you more knowledgable people can give me some insight on what I have ended up with. It's a 1955 Conn Stencil "Continental Colonial" with a man engraved on it wearing a colonial hat. No rust or pitting. No dents. Straight tone holes.  Pads in decent shape. I know that stencils are not nearly as good as the real thing but I'm hoping I, at least, got my moneys worth and my son will have a sax with a nice tone. Thanks in advance for any info you can provide.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: 1955 Conn Stencil

What you have is very similar to a Conn 14M Director's model alto, which is an intermediate model Conn. They play very well and have a good tone. I think you will be very pleased with it.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

2. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

19 years ago