Saxophone Forum

by oboe1960
(1 post)
19 years ago

Suggestions for a good Tenor, reasonably priced....

Hi, I am an oboist of about 35 years' experience, used to playing on professional oboes. I recently started playing tenor sax, and I'm currently renting a YamahaYTS-23. I am not happy with the upper register, it is extremely flat. I know the YTS-23 is s student model. I don't want to spend a ton of money on another sax, but I don't want to keep throwing money down the tubes on this one. Can anyone suggest a decent, reasonably-priced alternative? Or should I just ask for another YTS-23 from the rental guys? I have no problem buying an older horn either, but don't know what to look for..... the choices and opinions are bewildering! Plus, it seems to depend on what year your favorite model was made. Also I guess I should mention I am not a professional musician; I play for fun in 3 local music groups, but the music is very important to me!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Suggestions for a good Tenor, reasonably priced....