Saxophone Forum

by Stewart_Dreis
(12 posts)
19 years ago

How to hold a saxophone

I'm in 10th grade and in a dispute with my director... do you hold the saxophone between your legs or on the side? Any comments would be aprechiated. If you know any web sites that talk about this please state them. Thanks for your time.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxmanBSHS
    (4 posts)

19 years ago

Re: How to hold a saxophone

I am a freshman and I know that I can get a better airstream if i hold it in the middle, the first sax in my band holds it to the side though...anyway choose whatever feels best for you unless it is a tenor or bari, then definately to the side. I dont think it is possible to hold a bari in the middle, even if you are marching with it.

Reply To Post

2. by barisax999
    (400 posts)

19 years ago

i didnt read through all the other reviews, but its quite simple. if you play alto its in the middle, if you play tenor, bari, or bass, its to the side. this of course is if your sitting. and if you play soprano i would say in the middle

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by koreanpanda
      (3 posts)

6 years ago

Actually, I am Tenor player, and it's not always to the side, I actually prefer playing in the middle, so your point is invalid. Playing in middle is actually better for me and my sax, because it's an old sax, and my G# key's spring is weak, so it only works in the middle, I can play to the middle, but it's not that comfortable, and has a bad tone quality. so I would depends on what type of player you want to be, play in the middle, if you want to be a professional, and want to sound good, or play to the side and slouch and sacrifice your tone quality, air capacity, almost everything important.

Pandas

Reply To Post

3. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

19 years ago