Saxophone Forum

by Saxon
(100 posts)
19 years ago

mouthpiece for note bending?

I have a 1935 Conn alto, which has only 1 fault. top note F. i would like to get F# anyone know if a mouthpiece can allow note bends? i currently use a ymaha 5C and it doesnt bend enough. advice appreciated! Saxon

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

19 years ago

Re: mouthpiece for note bending?

You can bend a note up to some extent, but you should look into altissimo fingerings to achieve F# and above.

Reply To Post

1. by Saxon
      (100 posts)

19 years ago

Sorry but, I'm self taught, living in China where information is hard to find. Can you please enlighten me on altissimo fingering?

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

19 years ago

I'm sorry, but that is information that I am not at liberty to share with the Chinese, or my American jazz friends would have me hung for treason!

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by connsaxman_jim
          (2336 posts)

19 years ago

I'm just kidding. Your best bet would be to look online in search of an altissimo fingering chart. This is just one of those things that has to be shown, and there are websites with fingering charts that could explain it much better than I could.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

2. by Dave Dix
          (421 posts)

19 years ago

Try top front F and lefthand C then add low F righthand. Dave

Reply To Post

3. by Saxon
          (100 posts)

19 years ago

Thanks Dave But I only managed a nice F Just for the record I am an Anglo -Saxon Steve.

Reply To Post

4. by Dave Dix
          (421 posts)

19 years ago

Try adding the side Bb with or without the low F , together should give you high G Dave

Reply To Post

5. by Saxon
          (100 posts)

19 years ago

Tried the side Bb with front F and C but couldn't get it. I could hear a harmonic undertone amongst the squeaking but... Maybe I have a small air leak or something that prevents a clean note??? Steve