Saxophone Forum

by puppetmasta
(3 posts)
19 years ago

Tips on cleaning up a Conn New Wonder II

I have been playing a silver new wonder II off and on for over 10 years now. (nail file G# key, pearl key insets, C and Bb pads on opposite sides of the bell) I was lucky enough to inherit the horn from my grandpa when i started playing in school and never really knew what a good horn it was until recently. I've had it repadded a couple times throughout the years as well as having it dipped in an acid bath to clean up tarnish. The trouble is that the tarnish is so bad that even an acid bath doesn't bring it back to its full luster. I've always just assumed that I couldn't get it any better than where it is at, but then i saw all the beautiful finishes on saxpics.com and thought to myself that there has to be a better way to get rid of the tarnish. I'd love to be able to just take the entire thing apart, clean it all up, repad it myself, and make it look like new again. Can all you experts suggest where i might get started with all of that? Any good polish kits out there? Any guides on how to take a sax apart? (I fear I wouldn't be able to get it back together). I'm sure I could figure out how to repad it without much trouble. Any suggestions would be welcome! Thanks in advance, Dave

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Dave Dix
    (421 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Tips on cleaning up a Conn New Wonder II

i use a silver polish on my horns like silvo (brasso type) Try removing the top palm keys first polish that part of the sax up and oil the screws etc and re-assemble but be careful you dont stab yourself with the needle springs as they do hurt (been there and done that!!) then slowly proceed thru the horn bit by bit Dave

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

19 years ago