Saxophone Forum

by apoc7k
(20 posts)
19 years ago

I need your help!!!

Okay, this post is truly going to sound silly, but please bear with me. Alright, so I am a high school student (alto sax player) who slacked off for a year, and in neglecting to practice my jazz skills (what limited i have) i feel like i am slowly getting... 'behind the curve' of things. What I suppose I am really asking is what kinda stuff I should be looking into for serious jazz work. I plan to practice almost every day this summer, working myself up to 2 hours a day. All I have right now as far as good jazz literature is the Real Book (the real one, not any of them fakebooks). I've been thinking about investing in the Omnibook as well, but outside those two books I have no idea what I should be looking into. What literature should I be looking into? One other note is simply this... Is anyone familiar with the song "A Smith Named Greg" (also called 'Baltazar Named Gabe')? I would like to find a book, or maybe even simply the sheet music/score for the song. I really do appreciate any help you can give me on this!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Jim Keith
    (20 posts)

19 years ago

Re: I need your help!!!

Hey man i feel ya. My favorite jazz book is by JAMEY ABERSOLD (www.jazzbooks.com) called How to play jazz and improvise. Truelly great to tone up those jazz skills and learn a few more. CHECK IT OUT (only 2 hours aday? lol you kiddin) lol i play at least 4 but im going for jazz for a career! Good luck

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by johnsonfromwisconsin
    (767 posts)

19 years ago

Learn all the jazz scales. Learn to improvise by practicing some improvisational licks and phrases in those scales. I never learned to do that, and I wish I did! That will definitely put you ahead of the curve in a Highschool Jazz ensemble. Other than that, I dont' see why any book that would help you with finger technique and tone wouldn't help you become better.

Reply To Post