Saxophone Forum

by vipegrad
(47 posts)
19 years ago

C melody sax

I am interested in purchasing a c melody sax. I have very little knowledge about them so i am wondering where to begin my search as they are not carried by most if any standard music shops. I would also like to know what price range i am likely going to pay for a sax in playable condition.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: C melody sax

I would definately look for a Conn New Wonder Series I or II, made in 1922 or after, with the straight microtuner neck. They have the best intonation and are the most valuable. I have one which I recondition this past fall/winter, and now that I have the proper set up, the intonation is pretty good and it sounds fantastic. It really plays easy; easier than some of the new horns I have tried! It's a lot of fun to play also. You can pick them up on ebay for under $500 needing pads and a good cleaning. Most that you will find are going to need some work. You'll want to make sure that the sax hasn't been damaged in any way, and that all the keys are free. If the tone holes are damaged in any way, getting the pads to seat properly can be next to impossible. If you buy one from ebay, email the seller and ask these questions. 1. Is the saxophone complete. Do you have the neck and mouthpiece for it? 2. Have you ever had the saxophone repadded. How new/what is the condition of the pads? 3. Are there any dents/missing key guards, pearl inlays/rollers, soldered or broken keys, broken springs or any other damage? 4. Do the keys and mechanisms move freely? And last but not least, I would look for one with a decent case. C Melody cases are very hard to find, and there aren't many cases that will fit a C Melody. Also, if the case is in good shape, chances are the instrument will be in better shape than an instrument in a case that is pretty well beat up! Jim

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by Stuckond