Saxophone Forum

by spifster
(67 posts)
19 years ago

Urgent Mouthpiece Question

I am a serious high school student and am looking for a high-level jazz mouthpiece to use at the all-state music camp. I am deciding between a Runyon Custom, Runyon Bionix, JodyJazz ESP, JodyJazz classic, Lakey rubber or metal, Vandoren Jumbo Java, and Berg rubber. I am just wondering if you guys have any opinions, bad experiences, etc. about any of these pieces or suggestions about other mpcs that work on a yamaha 62-II. I currently have an otto link tone edge, bet it doesn't produce the power or edge I'm looking for.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by jamterry
    (573 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Urgent Mouthpiece Question

I recently got a Meyer Richie Cole. and it has a nice sound to it.You can get plenty of power out it, and a nice tone.Best of luck ar camp :)

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM ICQ

2. by Renegade Saxman
    (7 posts)

19 years ago

The tone edges are good pieces so I dont know wheter you got a dud mouthpiece or maybe your embroucher isn't correct. Maybe you got a lemon of a horn. When you tried out mouthpieces and horns you tried out several of the same horn and several of the same mouthpeice right. Well, also you said you are very serious so you might want to look into the Jody Jazz DV's they are new and awsome. If none of this works then you should look at inverted shackled compression chambers for your peices they make anything sound great. Coltrane had one. Ha

Reply To Post

3. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

You're probably going to want to go with a metal piece. I would try a metal Otto Link. The New Yorks sound pretty good on the Yamahas. Jody really makes some NICE mouthpieces also. They're a little pricey, but WOW! I really like Jody's new DV piece.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

4. by knorter
    (205 posts)

19 years ago