Saxophone Forum

by tigga
(1 post)
19 years ago

High notes.

I've been playing the saxophone, for about 7 months now, and I'm having real problems hitting high notes in tune. They always sound flat. Could anyone give me some tips or hints on how to hit them in tune? I currently use 1.5 reeds on a jupiter 500 series saxophone if it helps.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Bleeding_Gums_Murphy
    (55 posts)

19 years ago

Re: High notes.

There's your problem. Step up your reeds to 2's or 2.5's. 1.5's are very, very soft reeds, and after playing for a while, when you use softer reeds your embouchure tends to slacken and the more fragile notes come out flat. Harder reeds encourage you to tighten up your embouchure and build the strength of you chops.

Reply To Post

1. by Zheng
      (23 posts)

19 years ago

also it could be ur sax. i play a ref. 36 a pro sax. i have a student sax at home. when i play the high notes they go really flat, but the pro sax there always in tune.

Reply To Post AIM

1. by kitnachi
        (41 posts)

19 years ago

you could also push your mouth piece in more when you play and just loosen you jaw when you go down in your lower notes. but I seriously reccomend going up in reed thickness a bit, it improves your sound.

Reply To Post AIM

1. by selmer 4evr
          (309 posts)

19 years ago

What method are you using to play the high notes ? How are the low notes? I suspect a problem there also even though it is less noticable.

Reply To Post

2. by Sonny_Rollins
        (18 posts)

19 years ago