Saxophone Forum

by RobertD
(73 posts)
6 years ago

My First Saxophone - A 1965 Vintage Buescher 400

I just started playing saxophone a few weeks ago. I played brasswinds for many years and I own several vintage Buescher brasswinds so I looked for a Buescher sax based on my experience and Buescher's reputation. I settled on a 1965 Buescher 400 in near pristine original condition.

I know this isn't a Top Hat and Cane 400 and the serial number is beyond the Selmer takeover by a year or two but I always look for horns in excellent original condition as was this horn. I talked with the seller and read up on post-Selmer Buescher horns. I know the 400 was Buescher's top line trumpet. I owned a 1963 Buescher Super 400 trumpet with solid nickel silver bell and it was one of the best horns I ever played. Easily equivalent to my LA Olds Recording trumpet. The same goes for Buescher 400 saxophones, I'm learning. I love this horn.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by mijderf
    (282 posts)

6 years ago

Re: My First Saxophone - A 1965 Vintage Buescher 400

Wow does that ever look familiar!  I bought my first alto back in 1966, and it looked just like your photo.  It was a Buescher 400 with a 417XXX serial number on it.  It played great with the only issue being a sharp C#2.  But it was controllable with embouchure, so after a very short time it became a non issue.  I had that sax for 40 years, and the finish held up great.  Passed the Buescher on to a relative and got a 1936 6M Conn for me.

Reply To Post

1. by RobertD
      (73 posts)

6 years ago

Your sax began with 417 and mine begins with 416 so it should look familiar! :D

I've only been playing sax for about three weeks so I'm working on my embouchure but I have the advantage of being a brasswind player so I had a bit of a head start. My horn sounds pretty much on pitch from low Bb up to high D. That's as high as I've gotten so far.