Saxophone Forum

by Ya Boi Ike
(19 posts)
6 years ago

How to Pick a Saxophone

I am a sophomore in High School and I play tenor. I've only been playing for half a year, but I'm completely invested and really good. I already perform in Marching, Jazz, and Concert Band, and I also got first chair in a Senior Honor Band in my county. 

I play on a Yamaha-YTS 26 currently. While I am currently experimenting with mouthpieces which has helped, I'm ready to move up from a student model and I'm looking to upgrade. I want a darker sound, but I'm open to other options and I want to try as many as possible to help me decide. So I was wondering what the best way to try a bunch of saxophones to get a base idea would be. A popular music store? Maybe a convention or festival? I live in Delaware, so I can't go anywhere that's not within a couple state radius. If anyone can give suggestions that would be great.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by mijderf
    (282 posts)

6 years ago

Re: How to Pick a Saxophone

The first step is to figure out what is driving your desire to upgrade.  In general, if you just want a darker tone, that can be achieved with your current horn by selecting the right mouthpiece and reed.  Do you want better ergonomics or faster key action?  Or do you just want a horn upgrade because it will make you feel better about your playing (nothing wrong with that actually).  Recognize that your YTS26 is a very good horn.  If you are thinking of majoring in music in college, it might be a good idea to contact the sax department at a college you are interested in and see if they have a preference for a certain brand (some colleges do).  If you are looking to upgrade before then, you might consider the following:

There are a number of very good music stores in your surrounding states.  A few of them are:
    Chuck Levin's in Maryland http://www.chucklevins.com
    USA Horn in NJ  http://www.usahorn.com
    Joe Sax in NJ  http://www.joesax.com