Saxophone Forum

by Maria L
(1 post)
19 years ago

Alto Sax information

My daughter will be playing in the high school band and would like to upgrade her Conn Alto sax (which hasn't been working right anyway). What would you suggest for a 14 yr old who will continue in the band through high school? I have no idea or any knowledge of instruments. Please help. Thanks.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Alto Sax information

I would highly suggest one of the new Yamaha YAS 62 Series II alto's. They are an intermediate-pro model horn for a near student model price. They have a nice neutral sound which would be great for concert, symphonic, and marching band; or even jazz band with the right mouthpiece and set up.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

2. by barisax999
    (400 posts)

19 years ago

your in a really bad position. i would either get the conn repaired or rent a dencent horn for a year or 2. you see when you first get into high school your not gonna know quite what you want. waiting until you get a better feel for sax playing it will be easier to be willing to spend more, get a better horn, and the odds are you wont regret what you buy. i am going to be a senoir high school and i just purchased my pro series horn. i spent the last 3 years trying to figure out what i wanted to buy and where to get it.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

19 years ago