Saxophone Forum

by mrsaxomaphone
(2 posts)
6 years ago

New or Old C-Melody

Hello all, this is my first post.

I am a professional and am interested in purchasing a C-Melody horn. My purpose is essentially to play some old school tunes, (Rudy Weidolft etc). I totally realise what sort of beast a C-Melody is and what an oddity it is. HOWEVER my question is

Do I look for one of the old Vintage Conn's from the 20's or so OR do I buy one of the New Chinese Horns.

I realise that the Chinese stuff is of not great quality at all but compared to a horn from the 20's I'd imagine they'd probably be better in tune and the machinery actually better.

Although I play, love and own many MKVI's I also have Series III horns which I love just as much. New Tech versus old is a spiral of never-ending debate!

I'm keen to hear everyone's thoughts.

BTW, I totally do not expect any C-Melody to play like a Selmer! 

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by GFC
    (842 posts)

6 years ago

Re: New or Old C-Melody

There are new Chinese c-melody horns?  That's interesting.......

I'd go with a Conn from the mid-to-late 1920s.  They're dirt cheap; if there's a new c-melody going for what an old Conn would go for, chances are it is a low quality horn.  There are dedicated c-melody forums elsewhere and one resident expert on this forum who can assist you on your journey into c-melody land.

Reply To Post

2. by historicsaxwhisperer
    (644 posts)

6 years ago

You Are Singing my Song!!, in the key of C.

I have never played any of the cheap Asian brass C melodys, but they do interest me.

Refurbishing Conn Melody saxess is my preferred thing. They are very unique, Way ahead of the game in sound and workmanship. Get a straight neck horn with a tuning Mechanism.

1923 to 1930. The older ones are very common. The later years are quite rare.

Raw Brass is the less desired, but the best vibrating and sounding.