Saxophone Forum

by cammes
(16 posts)
19 years ago

Altissimo what is the secret !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have been playing for seven years on alto and struggle with some of the altissimo range especially the G. I hit the A easily and some of the others. I was just wondering if your set up has anything to do wtih it and if you have to change your embrochure at all?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by jazzyjedi
    (13 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Altissimo what is the secret !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The secret, is just to practice. Practice playing overtones. It really helps you in the long run, since altissimo notes are just overtones. Yous set up shouldn't have anything to do with being able to play overtones, though I have noticed that it's sometimes easier to play them when ou play on a new reed, while it's still sorta hard. As for your embrochure, don't change it! If you're changing it, you're doing it wrong. It should stay the same. However, you do have to change the position of your tounge and throat. Your tounge needs to be arched high, close to the roof of your mouth, using fast moving, cold air. I can't tell ya how to change your throat. It's different for everybody. Even it it wasn't, I still counld'nt describe how you hold your throat. Anyway, try this and see. Main thing is, is that its just gonna take some time and work. But you'll get it!

Reply To Post

1. by whitzonjazz
      (8 posts)

19 years ago

i agree with the jedi lol but another thing is the fingerings that you use. try 1,3,4,6. that's the fingering i use on alto. for tenor i use g#,Bb side key, and the teardrop or front 'f' key

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Altissimo, what is the secret? Embouchure control! Absolutely embouchure control! And this all comes with practice.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

2. by jamterry
      (573 posts)

19 years ago