Saxophone Forum

by qwantron
(5 posts)
19 years ago

Is repading a sax really as hard as your local tech would like you to think.

I have an old sax in really good condition but it needs a couple new pads. I really don't see the point in paying so much to get it done because I bought the horn for $175 and its worth maybe 300. putting that much money in a horn like this seems silly. I have been a mechanic for many years and have lots of craft expeirence. I also know basic auto body and welding. The task of repading seems like it would be somthing I could do. I know some of you are going to tell me otherwise but I think thats because your the ones that own repair shops. After all, you learned how to do it, someone gave you a chance. why can't others learn to repad? it's an old italian "alexandre" stencil horn made for selmer in case anyones wondering.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by lemoinm
    (1 post)

18 years ago

Re: Is repading a sax really as hard as your local tech would like you to think.

I would like to say I have repaired a couple and to change a couple of pads it may not be to bad depending on where they are .But be careful not to bend anything. It is pretty tedious when you tear one completely down. I have to agree with the other guy you can make a mess of it if your not careful . so you be the judge . Make sure you have the right ones and proper glue . Hey and if you take it in for repair and see if the guy will let you watch you know you can learn a lot from watching. give it a shot , your right the repair person had to learn.

Reply To Post

2. by unclealfie
    (6 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Is repading a sax really as hard as your local tech would like you to think.