Saxophone Forum

by rfriedman
(2 posts)
19 years ago

Building A Key

I purchased an Orsi (Italy) tenor sax with the entire high E key nissing. That includes the top pivit post and all rods etc. I am tempted to build a new one. I am an engineer and machinist, so I stand a chance. Where can I purcase the materials to begin this project?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by SaxMan
    (559 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Building A Key

you will spend A LOT fo money doing that. YOu will have to buy some good, probably 3/4 inch brass stock - probably at least 18 inches of it. some good, unannealed key stock, again, probably a right good chunk. (no one is going to sell you a little 1/4 inche pos.) You will need access to a fairly high tech lathe. You will need to know how to silver solder - acetylene and oxygen required - regulators alone are close to 200 dollars - silver solder flux and silver solder. Some 60/40 for the posts, you will have to know how to solder the posts without burning the lacquer IF you have all the machinery, you would probably spend close to 150 in supplies alone, then you might burn the crap out of the lacquer, or the key may just look bad. I would recomend taking it to a tech.

Reply To Post

1. by rfriedman
      (2 posts)

19 years ago