Saxophone Forum

by pepitogrillado
(1 post)
5 years ago

Please help me choose: Jupiter JTS500Q vs Yamaha YTS280

Hello everyone!

I am an adult pianist. In music school, I also took flute lessons as a secondary instrument - which I enjoyed a lot, in fact from time to time I still play it. A couple of weeks ago I started tenor sax classes, and I am liking it a lot!

I am currently using a friend's Yamaha (I believe it is a 280). However, it is old and has been unused for a lot a lot of time. I find it really difficult to hit the E, D and C low octave notes, and the higher octave sounds a bit out of tune. Looks like it probably needs adjustments as well as pad replacements - which I am not looking to pay for given it's not my instrument.

I went to a music store to try different options on the €1000 range. Out of what I played, I am in between Jupiter JTS500Q and Yamah YTS280. I have considered the following thoughts, and I was wondering if you would be able to help me weight/furhter inform them?

• The Jupiter wins in tone: I felt it was rich, warm, dark and full, which is what I am looking for. Meanwhile, I feel the sound of the Yamaha it's a bit more bright and metallic (although I like it too!). The store staff said this is due to the metal of the Yamaha is a bit more thin. I played both with my Selmer C* mouthpiece, and I believe that changing the mouthpiece really can modify the tone of the sound. So basically I guess I could also get a more warm/dark/fuller sound with the Yamaha in the future, by changing the mouthpiece?

• The Jupiter was easier to play - I just was able to get better sound and more dynamics with low effort in blowing

• The Jupiter also wins in price - €940 vs €1340

On the other hand:

• Yamaha 280 has a lot of good reviews online suggesting more durability, while Jupiter has some bad publicity (particularly for older models). What do you think?