Saxophone Forum

by giselegadot3
(1 post)
4 years ago

How difficult is the saxophone?

I'm considering picking it up. I've been playing guitar for a couple of years now but I've kinda fallen off in the last year or two, and I've barely played. I played the trombone in school as well and hated it for the most part tbh. Besides that, I have a general understanding of how to read music, but I'm not great at it. I'm considering picking up the sax now because I'll have a ton of free time with summer fast approaching. Its always seemed like an awesome instrument to me and now seems like the perfect time. I'm just wondering how difficult it is to get into and progress with.

Thanks and sorry if this gets asked a lot.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by RobertD
    (73 posts)

4 years ago

Re: How difficult is the saxophone?

Hi,

Brass instruments were the first I learned back in grade school. Then, I self-taught guitar and bass guitar in high school before deciding one day, just a couple of years ago, to pick up the instrument I always REALLY wanted to play - the saxophone.

Listen, I bought an alto sax and I fretted (pun intended) over wasting the money without any knowledge of the instrument so bad, I learned the full saxophone 2 1/2 octave scale in one day.

I was fortunate to have deep musical training in a high school for the arts back in the '60s, back when this country still had it's head on a little straighter, which I had already used to learn guitar, so I was confident I could do the same with the sax.