Saxophone Forum

by gregoryrh
(21 posts)
18 years ago

Embouchure

I see many people discussing embouchure below, especially as it relates to the alltissimo range. I have been playing for about 2 years now, training with a good instructor and am beginning to explore all my likes and dislikes. Jazz is a like. Anyway, I recently added a second teacher to my training just to explore new experiences. He wants me to change my embouchure slightly by moving my mouth in more towards the fulcrum of the mouthpiece. I have always had my mouth placed more outward towards the tip and have a pretty good tone with that setup. This newer teacher (plenty experienced) advices that with an embouchure moved more inward to the fulcrum gives you less of a "bite" of the reed and also gives you a looser embouchure which gives you less opportunity to bite your lower lip when playing over long times. My concern is I have better tone the way I play now. Any thoughts?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Sax Mom
    (964 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Embouchure

I've always thought you could get a bigger sound when you have more mouthpiece in the mouth. It can also help with quick tonguing depending on technique. Is your reed too soft that your tone suffers when you aren't using your lip so close to the tip to control it? Just some random thoughts, I don't really know the answers, because I don't know what your embouchure or your tone is like now, but hopefully others will chime in, and we'll both learn something.

Reply To Post

2. by jamterry
    (573 posts)

18 years ago