Saxophone Forum

by jazzplayer15
(27 posts)
18 years ago

How to improvise?

I'm kinda new at the whole improvising thing, and I don't think I learned how to do it right when I was first taught. When you improvise you improvise on a certain scale right? With certain notes? First off how do you know which scales your improvising on without asking your base player? That's probably a really stupid question. Oh well K

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by thewoodswind
    (5 posts)

18 years ago

Re: How to improvise?

well, theres really absolutely NO pattern to improvising. unless you really want a pattern. you just play what you want. but it does sound better if you follow a chord or riff structure.

Reply To Post

2. by straightj23
    (103 posts)

18 years ago

The easiest way to improvise is to follow what the melody is. In, say, Jingle Bells, you can take the melody and alter it little by little until you get a killer part going. I did that for Jingle Bell Rock for this holiday's concert and it turned out really well.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

3. by YanagisawA-901
    (312 posts)

18 years ago