Saxophone Forum

by stevenm1955
(12 posts)
18 years ago

Why do I squeak @ times?

I have been learning alto sax for 3 months. I have gravitated over from a flute for 18 months. I am self taught on both instruments. I occasionally HONK like a duck or squeak like a sick bird when I sometime initiate a note. It is very frustrating. I don't seem to understand the pattern. I am using a Meyers 4 mouthpiece a Rico 2 reed & a single posted brass/leather ligature. The alto sax is a Yamaha YAS 23. HELP! Any suggestions?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by definition
    (963 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Why do I squeak @ times?

You need to use more air Imagine this: the saxophone is a big balloon, and you have to keep it filled up, but there are lots of holes in it. You dont blow harder, you just need to speed up the airstream so you are using your air more efficiently Doing the above, you should also if you arent already incorporate longtones into your practice, those are extremely inportant for the development of good strong tone. Lastly its sometimes a good idea to get horn checked out for leaks by a good tech

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by calongshire
    (11 posts)

18 years ago

You may also be biting down on the mouthpiece to hard. Also the amount of the mouthpiece you have in your mouth will influence the sound production...too much mouthpiece you get the HONK, too little and you have a weak sound.

Reply To Post

1. by p-land sax
      (32 posts)

18 years ago

It could also be you have a leak or your fingers are not pushing down at the same time

Reply To Post

3. by melonsweetie
    (1 post)

15 years ago

Rico reeds are not very good.... although cheap, they make you squeak a whole lot. Switch to a different one. You will notice that that will already help. Also, try to move up a half size. Like 2.5 (I actually play clarinet but as a reed insturment I thought I could still help). The larger size of the reed, the less you squeak!