Saxophone Forum

by BobT
(5 posts)
18 years ago

ARTIST Tenor Vintage Sax - who made it?

Hi, This is my first involvement in the discussion forum so I'd better introduce myself. Bob Taylor, played the sax for about 7 years - chose the instrument after being advised by my wife that she didn't like the sound of jazzvibes & should change instruments! (she's the real musician - teaches piano) Best thing I ever did - now play tenor mostly (Selmer II) but also alto (Yanni custom), Conn C-melody, & Bari (Selmer II). Sounds good but I still regard myself as a beginner, am self taught except for some lessons early on, and only perforn for the 'old folk' at a day centre & am just about to do some voluntary work at a centre for head injuries (music therapy). Thats enough of that! I decided, after getting the Conn sax to start maintaining my own saxes & thought the best way to learn was to get hold of an old one to use as an 'apprentice piece'. So I now have this old tenor sax that looks as though its been buried for 50 years! I've searched a lot of the vintage sax sites & can't find a clue as to its maker, and wondered if anyone on this group had come across a similar sax. It has the word ARTIST in capital letters on the front left of the horn, engraving which looks hand done to the front but doesn't have a definate pattern - looks like a tortoise shell! And further engraving on the back that looks like a coat of arms. The key work is basic like the Conn with the bottom G#/C#/B/Bb keys as flat and featureless as you can get and the bottom B/Bb pads are on the same side with a guard that seems larger than the vintage Selmers/Keilwerths. The neck opening (it hasn't got a crook) is significantly wider than my Selmer tenor. Thats not a lot to go on I know and I'm not going to obsess about its origins but it would be good to hear from anyone who has something similar. All the best, Bob

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Veronica1929
    (1 post)