Saxophone Forum

by getz_049
(3 posts)
18 years ago

Good Vintage sax

I'm fairly new to the tenor sax, having only played for 2 years. I want to buy a tenor this summer and don't know what to look for. I was told to go vintage. The only problem is that i dont know what brand to look for. As for money, i want to see my options before i see a price so tell me whats best and then i'll deal with the money part. And if it matters, i play jazz sax.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by djazzy
    (65 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Good Vintage sax

I'd like to say any sax can play any genre of music. Good brands to look at are the pre '70s Conn. Look at the Conn 10M model, they have a great sound with the right mouthpiece and repairs (of needed). If you choose a Conn look at Meyer and Otto Link Tone Edge hasrd rubber mouthpieces. For metal look at the Otto Link Super Tone Master. Hope This Helps: djazzy

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

18 years ago

There are many great vintage horns. The Conn 10M is one of them. Even the earlier Directors model 16M's are great horns and can be bought for next to nothing. The Buescher Aristocrat and 400 are great horns. King Zephyr or Cleveland , Martin Committee or Handcraft models and earlier Keilwerth models are also great horns. Some or the earlier Yamaha and Yanagisawa models are very good.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

2. by barisax999
    (400 posts)

18 years ago

really you have to just play around to get a feel for what your really want. we cant tell you what style of horn you are going to dig. and i would wait a while longer until you have a better grasp as well as a more defenite idea of what you want. but start playing on different horns now

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by getz_049
      (3 posts)

18 years ago