Saxophone Forum

by BigernSF
(1 post)
6 years ago

Bunny II vs TS200

I'm new to saxophone, I bought a Selmer Bundy II which I've been playing for a couple of months. A friend wants to sell me a Selmer TS200. Any thoughts on which one is better?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by bjroosevelt
    (47 posts)

6 years ago

Re: Bunny II vs TS200

Try playing your friends sax to see which sounds better or which is easier for you to play.  You will probably have a better idea of what you need in a sax in a few months.  The questions shouldn’t be about which is better.  It should be about what is best for you.  There are always trade-offs.

For example:  My US made $600 Conn 16M tenor from the late  50s (Considered a student model), has far better sound than my $2,400 Selmer Mark VII from the 70s (Considered a solid professional horn).  The Mark VII is a professional set up from PM Woodwinds in Chicago.  The Conn is a “junker” from my local music store.  The Mark VII is far easier for me to play, and so I use it.......but I aspire to play the Conn because of the tone quality.

I wouldn’t know how to answer, which my horns is better........as everyone knows the Conn is a pain in the rear end to play.

Reply To Post

1. by GFC
      (842 posts)

6 years ago

I'm curious, what are the issues that keep you from enjoying your Conn?

Reply To Post

2. by mijderf
      (282 posts)

6 years ago

I really don't think the old Conns are a pain to play.  I assume you are talking about the layout of the left pinky table being different from modern horn tables.  If you would concentrate on playing just the Conn for about 1 week, you might find that it is not hard to adjust to the difference.  The tone difference should make the effort worthwhile.  One thing you can have checked by a tech is the table spring pressures.  Proper spring pressures make the old tables easier to use.

Reply To Post

1. by GFC
        (842 posts)

6 years ago